Hey Santa…   3 comments

 
Ready to write the letter
Ready to write the letter

My baby wrote her first official letter to Santa this year. Here is what she wrote:

” Dear Santa:

I am excited to see you today at the Santa Claus Parade. I picked a pretty outfit for you. For Christmas, I would like a snow globe (yup, that’s what she wants – a snow globe!) like the one in my Barbie movie, and some Barbies, and a ball and some toys for my baby sisters. ”

Love Bridget

Age 3

The letter

The letter

As she dictated, I was thrown into some serious nostalgia for the past. I remembered years of writing my own letters – asking Santa for the same thing every year: a pony. And whatever else struck my fancy that year – a Cabbage Patch kid, various games, even a Lego “Construx” set. But always, first and foremost, a pony. Darn Santa – still waiting for that pony…  I also remember hours spent alone and with my sister, pouring over the Sears Christmas Wishbook. We would fold down the pages that held interesting toys, and were thoroughly confused as to why the Wishbook always started with mens clothes at Christmas. I mean, who in their right mind would ask for socks or underwear for Christmas? Oh, and turning super quickly past the pages of naked people in their bras and underwear… OMG, soooo embarrassing!

I am finding that as B gets more and more into each individual holiday, I too am finding my love for each holiday grows. It’s like having kids gives you the excuse to be a kid again yourself. I’ve always loved Christmas – it has retained that child-like magic for me. But seeing the holidays through the eyes of a three year old allows you to really experience it all again for the first time. Things I take for granted: knowing that Santa somehow magically gets to every little girl and boys’ house on Christmas Eve. The first taste of egg nog (okay, with a little rum for me, but her face that first taste – pure rapture!). Meeting Santa and sitting on his lap (never seen B at a loss for words, but she was almost mute!). It just makes me fall in love all over again.

Having our kids also means I now have a really great excuse to start celebrating each holiday earlier and earlier. It also gives me an added voice to push Daddy into okaying such insanity. This year, our Christmas lights got turned on in November! I know, scandalous, right? You’d think so, the way my husband reacts. But when your little girl asks you “Is it time to make the big Christmas tree in the front yard pretty again, Daddy?”, it’s too hard to say no…

Drawing Santa a picture

Drawing Santa a picture

 But the very best part about writing your little girl’s letter to Santa (besides the fact that she thought to ask for something for her sisters as well?) – watching her sign her own name at the bottom for the first time… Wow, aren’t we getting so big?

3 responses to “Hey Santa…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, Kym, there IS a Santa Claus!! It is a wondrous, holy, and joyous holiday tradition that becomes even more special when you can share it with your children and live it, see it, all through their eyes and their perceptions of what’s happening. Everything is magical – at least for a few years!!

    Enjoy this wondrous holiday season which celebrates the birth of Jesus — another child who grew up and made a BIG difference!

    Hugs,
    Pam :)))

  2. It is such a treat to hear you voicing my thoughts every year you and Michelle came to Breakfast with Santa and we started the month long celebration with Michelle’s birthday on December 7th. Of course the tree had to be up and fully decorated..bubble lights and all in readiment for the annual big birthday party. You always had new party dresses gramma lovingly made and enjoyed all the festive events that lead up to December 24th. As I have always been a kid at heart, it only excelerated my joy and it still does today as a grandmother of 4 wonderful children under 4!I loved all the pictures and your poignant descriptions bring wonderful flashes of our past history..you were and sre my Best girl!

  3. Pingback: Why Being Canadian Rocks At Christmas Time… « Twinside Out: When twins make it "three under three"

Leave a Reply

