Embarassing Mommy Confession #328   1 comment

Mealtime for Kennedy

Mealtime for Kennedy

 

In my brief time mothering my little family, I have many embarassing mommy confessions…

  • The first time B drops the F-bomb, it will definately be my fault (ditto for any other “bombs” you can think of – but I’m working on it!) 
  • Bathtime is definately an every other day thing in our family – twice weekly when life gets crazy.
  • And while my kid thinks that the big yellow “M” stands for Mommy (and not McDonalds), she certainly knows how to order herself a half-sweet half-hot kids hot cocoa, and usually tries to sneak in a gingerbread cookie if she can – heated in the oven, please and thank you. 

But the big one for (ahem) this week:

My kids prefer jars.

 

Yup. There you have it. Given the option between my home-stewed, tree-ripened, hand-peeled organic peaches, and Heinz’s original green label, I lose. Big time.

Its become something of a joke these days considering that I currently have a freezer full of beautifully- coloured cubes of home made baby food, most of them made from perfectly balanced organic recipes learned from naturopath-nutritionist guru Lianne Phillipson-Webb. Her food classes are awesome, and I learned so much from attending them. Bridget was a huge fan of my homemade food (though now I wonder!), and as such I have been making most of our twins’ food since they started solids at 6 months. The time commitment is high, what with the shopping, washing, peeling, chopping, measuring and cooking, especially for two babies this time around… But I figured it was worth it. And they’ll like it better, right?? Right?

OK, lets be honest – I mainly do it because I have bought into the concept that home-cooked is “real” food, and stuff from boxes and cans is the devil. When I was a kid, we ate a lot of prepackaged food. I have fond memories of neon yellow Kraft Dinner, Hamburger Helper, Riceroni, Alphagetti, Chunky Beef soup, and Kraft Butterscotch pudding, and even get occasional cravings for the aforementioned nasties to this day. And of all people, I should know that given the choice between gourmet organic 3-cheese macaroni and the neon yellow crap, 9 out of 10 kids will pick the Kraft. And the 10th kid is likely the one everyone laughs at on the playground because he’s wearing the reindeer jumper his mummy bought him for Christmas. So he doesn’t count.

But until recently, I hadn’t had to face up to this sad fact as my kids hadn’t ever experienced jarred food. If it didn’t come out of our freezer, they hadn’t seen or tasted it before. But when I went out of town for a few days, I was afraid Nanny and Grampa might want something simpler than sifting through 32 ziploc bags in the freezer to find 3 cubes of this and 2 cubes of that, so loaded up on some of the Heinz organic line instead. And that, my friends, was the beginning of the end.

Not only did they like the jarred food, but now they even get excited seeing the jars come out of the cupboard. And while I am still mildly frightened at meat that can sit out at room temperature (even when its canned, that just seems strange), their new favorites are the PC Organics meat & veggie mixes. Now, it hasn’t stopped me from continuing to make yummy new food for them, some of which still trump the jars (pureed beets, and my new fave quinoa and veggie recipe come to mind). But in the end, I’ve had to soften my “no processed foods” line to admit that if the texture and flavour suits them, and it is (embarassing to admit) yummier than mine is, then I’ll just have to add some to the rotation.

But it doesn’t mean I have to like it… 

The aftermath for Taylor

The aftermath for Taylor

One response to “Embarassing Mommy Confession #328

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My confession is that I am Kym’s mom and I was the one who did feed some of the pre-mixed-store-bought-not-so-healthy food to our two girls. However, in defense I must say that I originally did make home made macaroni until Kym’s older sister started coming home from visiting her friend’s home and let me know in no uncertain terms that Mrs. Norris’ macaroni was much better. Well I baked it , boiled it , added more cheese and tried everything I could think of that Mrs. Norris might do!.Nothing seemed to bring a smile to Michelle’s mouth when she tasted it. Eventually in desperation I phoned Mrs. Norris confessing to her my dilemma..she said it was simple to make her macaroni..”you just buy the Kraft box and follow the directions”…..well Kym good luck with all your future cooking endeavours, hon

Leave a Reply

