“One knows not the worth of water till the well is dry…”   5 comments

Welcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about Family and Breastfeeding. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts through July 31st! 


 

My husband knows to get water. It could be 7:30 in the morning, or just after dinner, or even (on more occasions than I’d like to admit) 3am, but he knows. He shows up, unbidden, with a huge mason jar of water in his hand and silently hands it to me, knowing even before I do that I’ll be thirsty as the Mojave Desert in about 35 miliseconds. Once those two little mouths trigger their first milk let-down, my body screams at me for re-hydration, and shakes its angry fist over the fact that I forgot (again) to drink enough to rehydrate after our last nursing session. So my hubby knows that no matter what else might be helpful, first off, I’m gonna need water. Over the last seven months of us nursing our twins, he’s learned to anticipate and be rewarded.

Usually, it’s just a tired smile and a “Honey, you’re the best…” Not too infrequently, that’s followed with, “And while you’re here, could you just grab my (blackberry, TV remote, lunch, hair elastic, etc) from the other side of the room and bring it over for me??” Because, unfortunately for Will, he’s the only one in our family with any foresight. One of the downsides of nursing twins (at least, simultaneously nursing twins) is that once you’re sitting down and in position with two little mouths latched on, you’re kinda stuck there. There’s no casual nursing while wandering around the kitchen tidying with the other hand… There’s no getting your own water, answering the door, grabbing the telephone, using the facilities, or any of the other 999 things I used to do while nursing my first daughter, Bridget. Nope. There is just 15 minutes of staring at the wall and talking to yourself, if you didn’t have the foresight to get what you needed first before you picked up the two babies. Which is what usually happens when I’m on my own.

But, blessedly, when my dear spouse, or my newly useful (almost) three year old are around, I get my water. Or my Blackberry. Or whatever else I am requesting. Because they love me. And that’s just what family does…

 


 Here are more posts by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

5 responses to ““One knows not the worth of water till the well is dry…”

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Breastfeeding and Family « the BREASTFEEDING CAFE

  2. Wow-good for you for nursing your twins and simultaneously to boot!! I was never good at keeping myself hydrated enough even nursng just one kid at a time!

  3. Absolutely! This brings back memories! Your husband sounds like a keeper!

    I have gotten better about getting what I want before I sit down, and my girls usually nurse a lot shorter now, too. The key item I LOVE to have when nursing for longer sessions (bedtime, usually, now) is my Ipod Touch. Total favorite gadget for breastfeeding mamas — works great in the dark, too!

  4. Pingback: Family and Breastfeeding | Natural Urban Mama

  5. Pingback: Breastfeeding & Family | Whimsy and Wildflowers

Leave a Reply

